Shadow Of Winds

Turning 20: Step 1 Realization

Posted on: April 13, 2013

New year, new resolutions, new me and new birthday! Yay!! This one is going to be pretty special, it’s my 20th.

wHAT!!!

When did I grow up so fast?

Don’t panic. Stay calm. It’s not that big of a deal. It’s just another number. It doesn’t really matter.

Off course it does. It’s not every day that one moves out of her teens and turns two decade ancient. It’s like the official good bye to the tiniest bit of childishness left in us. I am about to grow out of my teens into a young adult. That just means my life is going to get a lot more worse. I will be treated like a grown up by people merely a year or two younger than me but adults will continue to treat me like a kid. I am pretty much going to be that same person with same unusual problems. So why does being twenty bother me so much?

I guess that’s because I had so much planned out for my future by the time I was a “vicenarian” as they are termed( Yeah, I am expected to use intelligent and appropriate terms when and where required). There are still things that are left to be done and places left to be visited, but then again I can continue trying out new things and keep going places even after I am a twenty something. Then why does this thing prick so much?

The point remains that I have to start accepting the fact that I am going to be held responsible for my own actions. No longer can I keep on blaming the disappearance of chocolate on monkeys and expect my mother to believe me. Yeah, I know you are thinking how can monkeys get away with chocolates from the fridge, but trust me they totally can! I got off-topic again, see. After about 60 days I am supposed to stop my random kiddish shenanigans and act age-appropriate.

Maybe I am making quite a big deal out of this whole “twenty” and this “growing up” thing, but its just the way it is. Small things like this are the reason that make you ponder what your life has been all along and make you analyze your existence on the face of the earth. I suppose it’s time for me to just accept the fact that each passing day I am gonna grow older and probably wiser if I really open myself to new experiences.

So for starters, I shall call my twenties the “twenteens” to keep me from freaking out and soon I will learn accept that age does not really matter in the long run. So what if I am not a child prodigy or the youngest parliamentarian in the country, doesn’t mean that I can’t still achieve all those things, maybe not exactly the way I wanted them.

So on a lighter note, I take refuge in Cadbury Gems’ tagline, No Umar For Favorite Colour!!

Till next time,

See Ya!

Image Courtesy: Google

Image Courtesy: Google

*(This post was supposed to be online by January, so excuse the new year festivity.)

Say something about the post!

Archives

Categories

The Shelf

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers
April 2013
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930