Shadow Of Winds

It’s All About You, Mumma!

Posted on: May 12, 2013

Dear Maa,

Fancy writing to you this way, brings back so many memories. Remember the time in class 8 when I used to send letters from school, every Saturday. I get so overwhelmed each time I see them along with the memorabilia from our childhood that you have kept away safely.

I can never thank you enough for all that you have done for me and didi. All those times you stayed awake through the night cause I was a stubborn toddler, the times you gave up on your merriment as I was unwell and all those times you kept me in your prayers even when I pestered you. All that I am today is only because you had confidence in me.

People say they would never want to go back to the time of illness. As much as I was in pain, I really do look back at my time in the hospital and cherish the memories of the time I spent with you there. You barely slept through the night for the entire month and would wake up in the middle of the night to walk me to the loo and would hold my hand strongly when I was in pain. I remember how you juggled between home and hospital each day to keep everybody satisfied. That time in the hospital when we used to sit in the balcony and talk, every single day, was downright the best time I ever spent with you.

I know how much I irritate you each morning making you pick out my clothes but that’s not because I am lazy but because I know that you know what looks good on me. As for letting you cook only potatoes, I promise this year to be open to eating more vegetables. I know I have changed a lot over the years, I don’t come back from school and rant details of everything that happened through the day. I know you miss that me, even though I ate your head with all my stories. Had we got the time, I still want to tell you all those stories. I still am the same not-ready-to-grow-up daughter of yours and my idea of fun still is sitting around making jigsaw puzzles with you or playing string games which for some reason didi can’t play.

All these things that I have been saying you all throughout the letter don’t even begin to describe how much I respect and adore you. Mummy, I know I say it too often but I can never say it enough, I love You and you practically are my whole world. I cannot think of a time without you being our side to hold our hands and to guide us through our troubles. This Mothers’ Day I vow to be a better daughter to the best mum one can ever have.

Love You Forever,

Radhika

Love you!

Love you!

4 Responses to "It’s All About You, Mumma!"

Well written Radhika ….all moms are special for kids

Thanks chacha. πŸ™‚

Say something about the post!

Archives

Categories

The Shelf

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers
May 2013
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031