Shadow Of Winds

Letter to July |2015

Posted on: August 5, 2015

July 31, 2015

11:53 p.m.

Dear July,

In some passing moments you will be gone and it’s just the first time that I’m trying to talk to you. I have now met you for a total of twenty-two times now and frankly speaking, I’m not particularly a fan of what you’ve brought along with yourself for all these years. I am not just talking about the literal things that you get, like the stickiness, the rain and all the spontaneous weather changes. It is more than that. I am troubled with the other colossal life changes you bring onward with you.

When I was younger, school would reopen when you came along and that marked the end of all the fun and free time I had. As I grew older, you brought in more work and responsibilities, to the point that I started to dread being around you. Not much has changed since, that feeling of anxiety still persists.

Well this time, you brought me my first job rejection. That was a bummer. It’s a strange and indefinable feeling of being rejected. More so by someone you really appreciate to the point that you practically idolize them. I still haven’t figured how I feel about it, but I know that henceforth, every time you are around I will be reminded of the disappointment, adding to all the reasons I already shun you.

July, you mark the starting of my academic year. You bring this order to the chaos that is my life. You remind me of my aspirations and set things straight. This time, you’ll leave me at a bit of a crossroads. July, I am confused. I can’t seem to make up my mind. I thought your presence would give me some direction but you weren’t much help. Honestly, I don’t know what I want and I don’t have the courage to make another mistake. I don’t know what I’ll be doing next time you’re around, and the thought of that terrifies me.

You are leaving and your venerable cousin August will visit me soon. I trust her wisdom will give me some insight and guide me in a better way. Here’s hoping you find me happy and healthy on your next round and that you bring me a nicer present.

Give my love to June.

Love,

Radhika

July

This post is inspired by Emily Diana Ruth‘s YouTube project.

Say something about the post!

Archives

Categories

The Shelf

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers
August 2015
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31